Learning to Love Leviticus Extra: How can we read Leviticus so that we understand it better?

Sorry guys, I am still in France on conference, and this week I have had to work 8.30am-11pm, so I haven’t finished my post on Leviticus 11-15 yet. I have been working as hard as I can. I am half way through, but I don’t want to rush it, because this will make it unintelligible. It will be posted Sunday at the latest. I am returning to London tomorrow, so next week I promise to be back on track and all normal again.

In the meantime, I hope we can look at how to understand Leviticus on our own. I have completed my prep, so I thought I would post the highlighted passage for the first 23 verses.

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 09.20.20

You can see that, in my prep I don’t concentrate upon on the specific laws, but the repeated words/phrases. This is not always informative in every book of the bible, but for Leviticus it really helps. We can build a clear idea of how to break up the book, what they key themes are and why they are important. In this way we can then begin to build up notes and the narrative of the book, and not get bogged down in the semantics of the laws written.

Once you have highlighted the section, decide upon the key themes in the section and how these themes are explored. Things you can ask yourself are:

  1. What is Israel told?
  2. How do these things make Israel different from other nations?
  3. Are these things positive for Israel or negative for Israel?
  4. Is there a structure or progression of ideas in the section?

Then we should try to think about why these themes are discussed, try to answer:

  1. Why does Israel need to hear this?
  2. If there is a structure to the section, how does the movement make you feel? Why did the material get ordered in this way?
  3. How does this help God and Israel dwell together?
  4. Are there any concerns about God and Israel dwelling together? Where in the passage and why?
  5. If there are concerns, what is the purpose for it being included in Leviticus?

Once we have a good of what Leviticus is saying and why it is important for Israel, begin to think how our relationship as Christians to God is similar or different to that of Israel. Where does this theme appear in the New Testament? How is the message in this passage the same as in Leviticus? Where does the message differ? How is this encouraging for us as Christians? Does this change your worldview, challenge or encourage you? How will this affect your life?

Why not try to finish highlighting this section and answer the questions over the weekend in your quiet time. Then you will be able to read my blog post with more clarity and understanding. You can tell me on Sunday if you agree with me, or if you have new ideas, and so we can all learn together. Have fun this weekend, enjoy Leviticus and praise God that we have this book, and we can understand it!

PS. By the end of this section we are over half way through! Please let me know, now we are half way through Leviticus if this is helping you? Do you like it? If so, what is good? How could I improve this blog?  Will you keep reading it? You can do this here, or on the social media pages, and you can private message me if you do not want these comments to be public. I will appreciate any and all feedback, so that I know what to do over the coming weeks.

 

(Scripture quoted from English Standard Version Anglicised (ESVUK)

The Holy Bible, English Standard Version Copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a division of Good News Publishers.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

